RESOURCES

Here are some links to articles, books, and online classes of a general nature that are related to writing and self-publishing. For more specific subject matter, check out my book How to Write, Publish, and Promote a Novel where I include links to articles at the end of the chapters.

 

Online Articles:

 

Crawford, Sara. Live Write Thrive (blog): What Does It Take to Be a Real Writer? https://www.livewritethrive.com/2019/09/16/what-does-it-take-to-be-a-real-writer/#more-10793.

 

Donovan, Melissa. Writing Forward (blog): 42 Fiction Writing Tips for Novelists. https://www.writingforward.com/storytelling/42-fiction-writing-tips-for-novelists.

 

Goins, Jeff. Goins Writer (blog): The Best Books on Writing You’ll Ever Read. https://goinswriter.com/best-writing-books/.

 

Jenkins, Jerry. Jerry Jenkins (blog): Writing Tips 40 Experts Wish They’d Known as Beginners. https://jerryjenkins.com/writing-tips/.

 

Johnson, Fred. ProWritingAid (blog): Advice from Kurt Vonnegut That Every Writer Needs to Read by. https://prowritingaid.com/art/455/Advice-from-Kurt-Vonnegut-that-Every-Writer-Needs-to-Read.aspx.

 

Johnson, Steve. Publication Coach (blog): 9 Ways to Make Your Writing More Resilient. https://www.publicationcoach.com/9-ways-to-make-your-writing-more-resilient/.

McIntyre, Ericka (Editor-in-Chief). “5 Tips to Get More Creative + Free Download with 26 Tips on Writing Fiction.”  Writer’s Digest. (No date.) https://www.writersdigest.com/writing-fiction-5-tips-to-get-more-creative.

 

Mikel, Betsy. “25 Ways to Tighten Up Your Writing.” Ragan. https://www.ragan.com/25-ways-to-tighten-your-writing-2/. Dec. 30, 2014.

 

Sansevieri, Penny. Author Marketing Experts (blog): 14 Habits of Highly Successful Authors. https://www.amarketingexpert.com/14-habits-highly-successful-authors/.

 

Vos, Lesley J. Bang to Write (blog): 10 Awesome Writing Tips from Robert McKee. http://bang2write.com/2014/07/10-awesome-writing-tips-from-robert-mckee-by-lesley-vos.html.

 

Writer’s Relief staff. “Tips for New Fiction Authors.” Huffington Post.  https://www.huffpost.com/entry/writing-tips-advice-fiction-authors_n_1628537?guccounter=1. June 27, 2012.

 

Online Classes:

 

Australian-based Open Colleges for online courses in writing, editing, and media-related training for aspiring authors, editors, and journalists.

http://www.opencolleges.edu.au/courses/writing-journalism.

 

List of universities offering free online courses. http://study.com/articles/10_Universities_Offering_Free_Writing_Courses_Online.html.

Maryville University English Career Guide https://online.maryville.edu/online-bachelors-degrees/english/careers/

Writer's Digest University for online classes and webinars. https://www.writersonlineworkshops.com/.

 

Books:

 

Dillard, Annie. The Writing Life. HarperCollins, 2013.

Hacker, Diana, and Sommers, Nancy. Rules for Writers. Bedford/St. Martins, 2018.

Koontz, Dean R. How to Write Best Selling Fiction. Writer’s Digest Books, 1981.

Lamott, Anne. Bird by Bird. Anchor Books, 1995.

Strunk, William Jr., and White, E. B. The Elements of Style. Pearson (fourth edition), 2019.

 

The Chicago Manual of Style. University of Chicago Press (seventeenth edition), 2017.

Webster’s Third New International Dictionary of the English Language. Merriam-Webster, 1993.

FOLLOW ME

  • Pinterest
  • Amazon
  • LinkedIn
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon

© 2020 by Florence Osmund created with Wix.com